Virginia-North Carolina Alliance for Minority Participation

1st Annual VA-NC Alliance Research Symposium

St. Augustine's University

March 31st, 2008

Raleigh, NC-  Students from more than eight colleges and universities from Charlotte to Virginia participated in the annual Undergraduate Research Conference held on the campus of Saint Augustine’s College on Monday, March 31. Students showcased their oral and poster presentations to administration and students during the daylong event. The conference encourages students to research topics and provide oral presentations based on their findings and support materials. The poster presentations allow the students to share their abstract in a casual setting while answering one-on-one questions about the poster.

“Saint Augustine’s College is initiating this conference to promote undergraduate research by providing a regional forum for students to present and receive recognition for their original research and creative endeavors conducted in partnership with faculty and internship mentors,” said Dr. Kim Luckes, provost and vice president for Academic Affairs.

Faculty took part in a workshop led by keynote speaker Dr. A. James Hicks, program director for the National Science Foundation’s Louis Stokes Alliance for Minority Participation titled Best Practices for Integrating Teaching and Research. Dr. William B. Harvey, vice president and chief officer for the Office of Diversity and Equity at the University of Virginia served as the keynote speaker for the luncheon. Students also attended a graduate school fair with representing colleges and universities in the VA-NC Alliance, other local colleges and Michigan State University.

The North Carolina Alliance to Create Opportunity at UNC-Chapel Hill and the Cooperating Raleigh Colleges were also supporters of the conference.

Poster Presentation Winners

First Place:  Kaiem Frink --  Elizabeth City State University

Second Place:  Jade Jones – Johnson C. Smith University

Third Place:  Corey Johnson – Johnson C. Smith University

Oral Presentation Winners

First Place:  Marcus Long, Carol Johnson, Crystal Sanders (Panelist) --  Shaw University

Second Place:  Terrika Foster – Division of Social Sciences – Saint Augustine’s College

Third Place:  Dorothy Vernoy --  Division of Social Sciences – Saint Augustine’s College